New Reviewer

Horrible Customer Service/ Waiting for compensation

I rented a property from American Homes 4 Rent From January 2019 to June 23 2021. When moving out they provide with a move out sheet stating to leave the power on for the home and you will not be charged for anything after the date your lease ends. My wife and I...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2950083 Review #2950083 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Management
  • Impossible to get a response
  • Charges
Loss
$171
Preferred solution
$170.56

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No communication, Poor customer service

I don't have a clue how this poor excuse for a company can get any positive reviews. I moved into a brand new house on August 26th and have been trying to contact the property manager, Sandria Neal, since we moved in. I have left dozens of voice messages and multiple emails. I have contacted the corporate offices in California and Las Vegas and have been told each time that a manager or supervisor would reach out yet nothing has happened. We have not had a trash container and the trash has not been picked up since we moved in 21 days ago. We do not have a garage door opener and we were charged a late fee for rent when we paid the rent a day early. All of these specific issues were discussed with the leasing department BEFORE we signed the lease and we were told "everything will be taken care of" This company is by far the worst business I have ever dealt with. You would be a fool or an idiot to sign a lease with them.

User's recommendation: Stay away.

View full review
ID
#2875021 Review #2875021 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Disgusting properties

I live in what used to be a very nice and clean neighborhood. I am a homeowner and have watched the homes that they bought from government bailout money slowly turn to ruins. I live next door to one. It has housed an armed felon who chose to harass my family when I wasn't home and now a band of squatters that have literally destroyed the property over time. Police nor American homes 4 Rent NOR my HAO will do a thing!!! If you have these slum lords in your neighborhood...MOVE!!

User's recommendation: Slum Lords and cons that do not care about home owners or neighborhoods where people actually PAY to live!

View full review
ID
#2855643 Review #2855643 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
Preferred solution
Hold your homes to a standard like the paying home owners have to do! You should check your properties and the people moving into them!!!!! Try working with Homeowners, we would HELP!

Worst rental company

Stay away from AH4R. They will charge you at the end of your lease for things that were broken, landscaping charge (which landscaping was never done on move in even), cleaning fees (even though you pay a great cleaning company to deep clean the house after move out),...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2839549 Review #2839549 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

Defective Heater with 7" x 1.14" crack in the exchanger

Moved in to home in May, so did not use the furnace until late Nov. The family began to have head acks. By January my daughter had been in the hospital 4 time for illness. Furnace keep shutting down. In January, a technician finally show up and said a sensor was being triggered as being too hot, so he moved it so it would not over heat. Finally called a professional and paid for it myself and he red tagged the furance.

User's recommendation: call a professional first.

View full review
ID
#2834776 Review #2834776 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio

Current tenant working on moving out.

I have been renting with this monstrosity of a company for 3 years. They have increased the rent hundreds of dollars every year from the beginning. Initially my rent was 1785 and now it is 2275. My utility bill was 400 a month, but mysteriously increased to over 1000 after they discovered I was moving. They are dedicated to keeping me broke so I do not have any money to move. The carpet is over 20 years old, yet they told me it was my responsibility to replace it. If I had known how money hungry they were and how insensitive they were to their tenenat, I would have never used this company.

User's recommendation: Avoid renting from this company like the plague, or life and death were a factor.

View full review
ID
#2832570 Review #2832570 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Maintenance Complaint

We are renters located in Salt Lake City Utah. The maintenance worker Brian has been out to our residence more then 5-7 times. He has never actually fined anything. He only offered excuses why he can't fix things.this caused us to escalate the issue so contractors would need to come fix them. I'm guessing this would cost AH4R more money. We have had a few contractors complain that they issue was easily resolvable with Brian but thier guess was he was too lazy to do the work. At one time he was supposed to help change hardware but Instead he gave us the hardware to do it ourselves. This is a formal complaint and should render an investigation .wordanonymous.

User's recommendation: Customer Service is good but the maintenance is poor.

View full review
ID
#2812724 Review #2812724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Very stressful
  • Lack prompt repairs
  • Bad maintenance

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor Customer Service

We lived in this house for a year. We have had a gas leak, bug infestation, broken toilets, and no A/C in bedrooms. I talked to the property manager today for the first time in a year after numerous calls and emails. She acted like this was the first time hearing about these issues. All I wanted was them to fulfill the requirements of the contract, but they will not do it. When you rent from the these people understand that you will have to maintain the house as if it is your own. They will fix nothing. Stay away!Please don't t !

User's recommendation: Don't Rent from Them. They will hurt you and your family.

View full review
ID
#2757160 Review #2757160 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Willfully not abiding by law
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I live in Florida they will not fix my AC

I live in Florida they will not fix my AC I have two kids and pay my rent on time. They refused to fix the AC they keep telling me theyre going to send someone out its been three weeks now my sliding glass door does not shut. My bathtub leaks all over. Every time I call the customer service line they tell me theres nobody to speak with that I have to wait for a phone call I called a total of 21 times in three weeks because I have no AC. When I called the property manager she always sends my call to voicemail nor does she respond and email all she says is have a wonderful day Ill get back with you. Absolutely horrible customer service

User's recommendation: Don’t use this company google all there reviews please save your self the head ache.

View full review
ID
#2756430 Review #2756430 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Not fixing any of the issues addressed at move-in
  • Only care about making money
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
I want these things fixed How can you asked me to pay rent when you don’t fix my AC?
New Reviewer

Pending workorder since July 11

I have air conditioner that does not cool and I have created a work order in May 2021. Service tech came out and looked things over - stated that the reason that unit does not cool is that is is doing all it can to work- it is to small for the house . It will run all day and line will freeze- needs to be replaced . He stated that he would put his findings and recommendations in work order, I created another work order July11 because unit shut down. It was 98 degrees outside. At 8 pm I turned unit on again

User's recommendation: Don’t rent from Amh4rent.

View full review
ID
#2746497 Review #2746497 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)

American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
American Homes 4 Rent - Gross Negligence, Willful Misconduct, Intentional Infliction of physical, emotional and financial pain, Constructive Eviction, Violation of Florida Statute 83.49(3)
Original review updated by user Aug 19, 2021
We rented a house in Apopka Florida from the end of February 2014 through July 31, 2020. We had signed a lease for 8/1/2020-7/31/2021, but due to AH4R negligence we had to move out, as the house became uninhabitable due to a huge oak tree falling on it, that we had...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2735053 Review #2735053 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Loss
$57000

Trying to submit a repair claim

Tried to log on but the system is not letting me - tried to set a new account up but it won't let me So now I have to wait on a phone call and the que time is 72 Min. This is the third time I had difficulty with the web site.
View full review
ID
#2734433 Review #2734433 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

The refrigerator has not been working

{{redacted}} The refrigerator has not been working for 4 weeks, when I called the manager Maria Propriety to talk about the refrigerator, she did not say anything about it, and she has not given me updates on the refrigerator. I called the office customer service, they hang up on me. I don't know what else to do and i need some help a call
View full review
ID
#2709813 Review #2709813 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Poor service.

BullshitWe have made many service for our a/c. Promises have been made and no one ever comes out, This happens every year. Need new a/c until. We had a problem with our garage door and it took 5 different people to come out. It took someone that would listen to what my son suggested to fix. I wouldnt recommend this company to rent from they are not reliable for service. NOT RELIABLE take

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY IF YOU NEED ANY SERVICE.

View full review
ID
#2699350 Review #2699350 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No call back or response from management
  • Lack of communication or acknowlegement
Preferred solution
service and pay our HIGH electric bill
New Reviewer

Pin and lockbox not matching

LIED ABOUT THE PIN NOW MY HUSBAND AND I ARE STUCK OUTSIDE IN THE RAIN!!! THIS IS COMPLETE *** ITS RAINING ON ALL OF OUR STUFF

User's recommendation: DONT RENT WITH THEM.

View full review
ID
#2684464 Review #2684464 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution