New Reviewer

Poor Communication

Nice when completing application and moving in, sucks at communication after. One particular property manager, is unprofessional, rude and talks down on tenants. She's very disrespectful and full of herself. Always ready to file eviction and never takes the time to look into matters before jumoing off the cliff, which leaves her looking incompetent.
View full review
ID
#3958747 Review #3958747 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Snellville, Georgia

Defective Heater with 7" x 1.14" crack in the exchanger

Moved in to home in May, so did not use the furnace until late Nov. The family began to have head acks. By January my daughter had been in the hospital 4 time for illness. Furnace keep shutting down. In January, a technician finally show up and said a sensor was being triggered as being too hot, so he moved it so it would not over heat. Finally called a professional and paid for it myself and he red tagged the furance.

User's recommendation: call a professional first.

View full review
ID
#2834776 Review #2834776 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I live in Florida they will not fix my AC

I live in Florida they will not fix my AC I have two kids and pay my rent on time. They refused to fix the AC they keep telling me theyre going to send someone out its been three weeks now my sliding glass door does not shut. My bathtub leaks all over. Every time I call the customer service line they tell me theres nobody to speak with that I have to wait for a phone call I called a total of 21 times in three weeks because I have no AC. When I called the property manager she always sends my call to voicemail nor does she respond and email all she says is have a wonderful day Ill get back with you. Absolutely horrible customer service

User's recommendation: Don’t use this company google all there reviews please save your self the head ache.

View full review
ID
#2756430 Review #2756430 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Not fixing any of the issues addressed at move-in
  • Only care about making money
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
I want these things fixed How can you asked me to pay rent when you don’t fix my AC?
New Reviewer

Pending workorder since July 11

I have air conditioner that does not cool and I have created a work order in May 2021. Service tech came out and looked things over - stated that the reason that unit does not cool is that is is doing all it can to work- it is to small for the house . It will run all day and line will freeze- needs to be replaced . He stated that he would put his findings and recommendations in work order, I created another work order July11 because unit shut down. It was 98 degrees outside. At 8 pm I turned unit on again

User's recommendation: Don’t rent from Amh4rent.

View full review
ID
#2746497 Review #2746497 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Poor service.

BullshitWe have made many service for our a/c. Promises have been made and no one ever comes out, This happens every year. Need new a/c until. We had a problem with our garage door and it took 5 different people to come out. It took someone that would listen to what my son suggested to fix. I wouldnt recommend this company to rent from they are not reliable for service. NOT RELIABLE take

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY IF YOU NEED ANY SERVICE.

View full review
ID
#2699350 Review #2699350 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No call back or response from management
  • Lack of communication or acknowlegement
Preferred solution
service and pay our HIGH electric bill

They took my security deposit for no reason

This is exactly my story as well. I moved out did my lawns, and deep cleaned. As I was cleaning inside and outside, a neighbor came to me and asked my who was my rental company, I told her American Home for rent. She smiled at me and warned me not to spend my money on maintenance or cleaning because they will never give me a dime back from my security deposit even if I rebuild the house to a brand new. Is obvious they do not spend company's money to maintain their houses rather, they take advantage of their tenant's security deposits and find any reason possible to steal their deposits. I will never or recommend any family or friend to this people, they are criminals.

User's recommendation: Do not use them or never expect your deposit back.

View full review
ID
#2155409 Review #2155409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tyler, Texas
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Rental

Terrible experience

They do not keep their homes up to code. The fireplace had a leak in the hose because the connection was not up to code. My family is lucky to be alive, we do not feel safe in their house but they will not let us out of the lease. Apparently breathing in gas is not considered uninhabitable. They do not respond or take forever to fix any issues with the house. It is going on 11 days now since service has been requested to fix our refrigerator and garage door opener. A few months ago they didn't respond for 4 days when our AC went out in 90 degree heat causing us to take our infant son elsewhere to sleep. This company cannot be trusted, do not rent from them.

User's recommendation: stay away.

View full review
ID
#2126057 Review #2126057 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sussex, Wisconsin
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Leasing

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor customer service and lack of respect and human decency

After taking over a rental property from another family for my brother's college living we have experienced not only the worst customer service and numerous problems with getting things fixed in the house, payments etc.., but American Homes for rent has a lack of human decency. As many of the other complaints listed above we have experienced repairs not being made or being made in any timely manner, switching of property managers in the one year we rented, and problems with payment. The latest is the fact that they never sent a notice to renew or to vacate prior to the end of the lease. We were forced to pay another month's rent in which they will not refund due to not having all the renters waive their rights to vacate (which they never sent). They then will be sending a check to all of the lease holders (one check with all of their names even though they live in all parts of the country and Canada). This is only after they calculate the security deposit refund which we all know they will most likely not be giving any refund at all. These are all similar issues listed above and in other reviews of this company. While it seems as though this company is fraudulent and unethical in their practices the real problem I have with them is their lack of respect or even genuine human decency. My father passed away in March with his name being the main lease holder on the rental property. The disrespect and unwillingness to help that they have shown my mother and my brother is unbelievable and honestly just cruel. They will barely even speak to my mother because she is not on the lease. The woman, Sabrina told her "she was lucky that she even will speak to her in any capacity." Then this same woman, Sabrina went on to try and give my mother parenting advice saying she was not allowing my brother to be independent and responsible enough. I am sorry, but these are grieving people and although they are my family members no one deserves to be treated this way. We are not looking for sympathy or any sort of break due to his death, but how about some compassion and kindness. There was not even an I am sorry from this woman. Sabrina also proceeded to lecture my brother about where he should have left the keys after they never sent any sort of procedure for how to vacate the property. It is disrespectful to say the least and truly disgusting. While I could go on with many more complaints and choice words, I will leave at this poor customer service is one issue treating people no matter who they are with this amount of disrespect and cruelty is unacceptable and morally wrong. I will never recommend American Homes 4 Rent to anyone in any capacity. Thank you for your time.

User's recommendation: Do not get involved with this company.

View full review
ID
#2109192 Review #2109192 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Leasing
Cons
  • Ethics
  • Treatment of renters in compromising situation
  • Move out policy not given or explained ahead of time
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Poor customer service and expectations of renters

We moved in our property in 2015 and left in 2020. Upon leaving we got a video of things we're expected to do before leaving the property. One of those was to paint any wall with a disruption in paint. So if you hung a photo or curtains then you were required to...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2100997

I wish everyone Knew how to deal with this company. Thanks for posting

ID
#2086745 Review #2086745 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Horrible company

Absolutely horrible. We should have read the previous bad reviews on Google and Yelp before we even thought to go with this leasing company. The place unkempt we moved in; bug carcasses on the master bathroom sink, some kid's stickers on the guest bathroom sink, exposed outlet in the second bedroom, hole in second bathroom wall that had just been taped over, window screens taped up in the third bedroom, exterior was molded and nasty, the back door had rot and *** in the bottom which they never fixed, we had to install gap stops on the bottom of the door, because there was a good 1/2" gap letting all the cold/warm, we went to change the HVAC filter, and it was BLACK. I had to repair the joint coverings throughout the house, there were stains on the carpets, a huge gap in the kitchen molding which was allowing bugs in, and two smoke alarms which were doing warning beeps for depleted battery. Then there's the ridiculous lease they make you sign.... like if you're vandalized, YOU are responsible to pay for the damage and fix the damage. Lo and behold, we were vandalized by one of the GROUP HOME RESIDENTS that they fail to tell you about. This guy has damaged 3 other homes in this neighbourhood. There is a huge grub/mole problem that they won't take care of. I asked for the door to be repaired, which they ACKNOWLEDGED in their move-in report was broken, but they did nothing. Earlier this year, our toilet was leaking water all over the bathroom. Their response time... a WEEK and A HALF. Now, they have the gall to want us to return this place in pristine condition when it wasn't that way for us upon move in. My husband and I just bought a house, and we gave plenty of notice that we'd like to vacate. They have the gall to charge us $2500 to move out! That's AFTER they sent us a beautiful email saying that, and I quote: "As the events related to Covid-19 have unfolded over the last several months, American Homes 4 Rent has been committed to keeping our residents safe and secure in their homes, including actively working with those challenged by the circumstances of this crisis. To show support for our residents, we instituted temporary relief by eliminating late fees, suspending evictions, foregoing month-to-month fees on expiring leases, offering no-penalty terminations, and allowing our residents to pay flexibly throughout the month. In cases where balances have persisted despite these efforts, we have allowed the payment of balances over time. " Let's read that again: OFFERING NO-PENALTY TERMINATIONS. Their answer to that? "That email was sent out for tenants that have been affected the hardest...." Sooo. we received the email. That means we apply. If not, then by your logic, we shouldn't have received the email. Needless to say, we're extremely unhappy. To any prospective tenants.... RUN.
View full review
ID
#2076337 Review #2076337 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kernersville, North Carolina
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Leasing

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

To Large to Care

AH4R is to large to care. I have been a tenant for almost 3 years. I pay $1,780 a month for a house and its near impossible to get AH4R to address maintenance issues. I'm in Las Vegas and am currently on hold with their maintenance for 3 hours and 9 minutes. My AC has...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2052950 Review #2052950 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Rental
Cons
  • Agree with all the other complaints
  • Refuse to maintain house and grounds
  • Lack of follow through and resolution
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

TERRIBLE COMPANY TO DEAL WITH

MOVED IN 10/08/2019. A/C WENT OUT IN NOVEMBER. THEY HAVE BEEN HERE 5 TIMES TO FIX. STILL GOES OUT. CALLED LAST WEEK, THEY SET UP A TIME 11-3 TO BE HOME. THEY NEVER SHOWED UP OR CALLED. THEY DID THE SAME THING 2 DAYS LATER AFTER THEY SET UP THE TIME TO BE HERE. THEY NEVER CALLED OR SHOWED UP. JUST IN THIS I LOST 2 DAYS WORK., AND THE AIR KEEPS KICKING OFF. WHAT A DISGRACE, SLUM LORDS. AND APPEARS THEY ARE THE TRAILER TRASH. SATURDAY NOW 80 DEGREES IN HOUSE. IN MY EXPERIENCE IN DEALING WITH THIS COMPANY HAS BEEN BAD FROM DAY ONE. PLEASE DONT RENT FROM THEM.

User's recommendation: DO NOR USE THIS COMPANY.

View full review
ID
#1853978 Review #1853978 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Rental
Pros
  • There is no pros
Cons
  • Will not responded via email after 4 attempts
  • Yes they are a con
  • Irresponsible company
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Rent with extreme caution if you have to rent with them

I previously posted a review about how terrible the service is and the condition of the home. We moved out early and paid the rent up to the end of the lease. We received the inspection after leaving the home (in better condition than it was givin mind you) and of course they tried saying we owed like 4-5 grand. Luckily I keep everything, when we first moved in they had it inspected and sent me an email copy of all the damage before we stepped foot in the house, I also sent in the inspection they request you send them within three days of moving in for any damage. This is where I caution you so listen!!! It sounds crazy but nitpick everything you find because if you dont it can end up costing you hundreds or thousands, even if it was there beforehand and you didnt do it. MAKE SURE YOU WRITE IT DOWN! Dont think oh thats small and petty, its not a big deal and then not write it down, big mistake! Remember upon move out they charge you retail price of whatever it is so for example a lightbulb that went out is six dollars each. One lightbulb is no big deal but when they send you 50 items that they find youre talking big money. So my end result ended up being a happy one after a 12 month nightmare. Our property manager Erika and Monique helped us get what was rightfully ours from the deposit and all was good and closed. As for the company I give them two stars but I give those women 5 stars. Thank you for doing the right thing!
View full review
ID
#1792435 Review #1792435 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Leasing
Pros
  • Easy renting processes
  • How they were helpful at first
Cons
  • Hassale
Preferred solution
Nothing

Don’t bother

We rented with them for 5years. Not once was we late on payments, maybe needed maintenance about 3times. When we moved out they charged us with $7500 of normal wear and tear fees from light bulbs to carpet and even the fence. I dont recommend anyone to sign a lease with these people.
View full review
1 comment
#1817260

We had the same experience. I rented for 2 years and put several hundreds of dollars worth of upgrades into the house and was charged my entire security deposit for all sorts of random *** that we did NOT cause!

This company is a complete SCAM!!! WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THEM!!!

ID
#1774275 Review #1774275 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Leasing

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Find another company!

They will take their time with if you need something. However they will bug you if they need something done. The office in Greensboro,NC is a joke. They don’t pick up your phone calls but when you go in there they are joking and laughing. Got charged 416.00 dollars for window that was shot out by something or something cracked the window. The exterior of the window was cracked. I don’t have kids and no kids of my family has ever came over. I don’t mind paying if that was my fault. Personally I don’t play outside anymore. Haha... Some of their property is in lower social economic areas. I have not been in N.C. long about a yr and half, you think a company that charges so much money for a property they would be in good areas. One thing I have learned about the triad area is you might find a place in a decent area or what appears to be and it is not the case. Once moved in me and my gf was advised by a neighbor that stuff would get stolen if you leave stuff out or if you don’t lock your vehicle/trailer. If anybody is wondering What the address is. it is 3149 Talladega Court Winston-Salem NC. I paid 1095 a month before we moved out they had the rent at 1295 a month then 2 weeks we move out they lowered it to 1250. The place is in a bad area anyone that rents this place for this price is crazy. There was a light that didn’t have a bulb in went the whole yr without and got charged for that also. If you rent from these American Homes 4Rent you need to follow up and seriously due a pre home inspection and nail them for anything and everything that is wrong. They never came to take the key thing off the door and the door handle we called to get them to replace was loose. Talked to some realtors for a while to look for a house in the area they said that the company has a bunch of catch 22’s in their contracts. Which we found out was the case. The neighbor notified me that birds were potentially getting into vents of the house. I called and they said it was pest and that you the resident is responsible for. FYI that is not a pest issue that’s wildlife. They are clueless. I have always have gotten my full amount of my deposit back. Have rented from 1 apt complexes, 2 rental companies including and a family friend. Rented 3 places I take care of my stuff. Not impressed with renting from rental companies and will remain in an apt until we buy a house of some sort.
View full review
ID
#1716282 Review #1716282 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Rental
Cons
  • Unethical practices
  • Tries to take every penny you have
  • Poor follow-up
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$208
Preferred solution
Full refund or pay half for the window

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article