Absolutely Awful Service and Expectations

Brand new house and the garage door is coming off the track and half falling down. They refused to commit to getting it fixed today. There is a lot of valuable equipment in the garage and the door could not be left open overnight. I found company to fix it and they refused to authorize. They expect you to pay for absolutely everything as if you owned the house and their service is pure crap.

User's recommendation: RUN FAR AWAY!! DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES RENT FROM THEM.

View full review
ID
#2489882 Review #2489882 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
New Reviewer

Poor property management

American Homes 4 Rent - Poor property management
American Homes 4 Rent - Poor property management
American Homes 4 Rent - Poor property management
Don't have them move into your neighborhood or it will look like this!! It has been 3weeks and still no response from AH4Rent

User's recommendation: Avoid.

View full review
ID
#2487240 Review #2487240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Property Manager
Cons
  • Slum lord
  • Management
Preferred solution
Trash picked up, tenenats removed

WORST COMPANY EVER!!!

As a real Broker for 20+ years this is the absolute worst company I've ever done business with. From the initial showing, application process, tenants move in to the commission payment it was awful. There is no communication or anyone in this company that knows anything. You will just get transferred to anther incompetent representative of the company. Then you have to constantly email/call/demand payment as their accounting department looses files and forgets to pay commission. I will NEVER lease a property from American Homes 4 Rent.

User's recommendation: Choose any other home other then American Homes 4 Rent. It will save you much heartache.

View full review
ID
#2472887 Review #2472887 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas

Horrible Property Manager

Our home was affected by the national disaster here in Texas our property manager did not handle the needs to help restore our property correctly. She was rude, inconsiderate and showed no compassion. She does not know how to communicate and seems to be very occupied when we did to speak to her on the phone. Furthermore, she suggested that we terminate our lease if we were not happy with and that we need to learn to be patient. She has yet to call to see if our home as been repaired or if we are still without the use of water and power. I have taken matters in my hands to get my home restored and livable.

User's recommendation: keep an email exchange with your property manger to cover yourself.

View full review
ID
#2451786 Review #2451786 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Desoto, Texas

Customer Service

I spoke with Erin about a home in Plant City FL. She was very detailed and patient with me as I inquired about multiple properties in the area. She took her time to research each property and provided detailed timelines that are important to know when searching for a new home. She is very personable and made me feel excited to live in one of AH4R communities.

User's recommendation: Ask to speak with customer service leasing representative Erin!

View full review
ID
#2438276 Review #2438276 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Plant City, Florida
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Customer Care

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Noise complaint

We live adjacent to a new construction sight, ( Laurel Heights ) in North Las Vegas, Nevada. Though we understand there is building noise it seems quite unnecessary for the workers to play their music full blast while they are working. We are extremely close to the houses being built and have had to listen early in the morning. This morning ( Sunday ) it was at 6:30 AM. Do you have any consideration or respect for people. It is just plain rude and inconsiderate.
View full review
ID
#2438261 Review #2438261 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Stop playing loud music

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

AH4R took my deposit and says I owe them nearly $3000 more!

After moving out on 12/31/2020 leaving the house clean and with a few light bulbs out, I was charged rent for the whole month of January 2021 when they had the keys to the house on 1/1/2021 and I no longer had access! Then also had another tenant in the house before the month was over! Also, I was charged for damages I did NOT make but were there when I moved in. I took photos when I moved in and emailed them to the property manager and took photos when I moved out. AH4R mailed me another tenant's damages claiming my deposit about 25 days after my move out. I let them know those damages were not mine. Then they sent me some pictures of damages of the property over a week later. I disputed them, and they rejected the dispute and decided the charges will stand even though I had proof! I was shocked, I always get my deposit back when I move out of a home because of how I clean the home! This is the first and I only lived there for 1 year! Those damages were damages that were there already. There was a picture of a damaged window with black frame and my frames were white!!! Lies all lies! I am currently seeking legal advice with an attorney and Action News because they need to stop this bad behavior! People are suffering because of the Pandemic with a loss of income, and they are cheating people out of their money! I can't afford this! You take my deposit of $1750.00 and say I owe you nearly $3000.00 MORE! They have you rate them 5 stars during the move in process but after this I went to their website reviews and notice this didn't just happen to me. It's a normal thing for American Homes 4 Rent. Who will stop this unjust bad behavior??? I will make it my life mission to let everyone know about this poor company! AVOID THIS COMPANY!

User's recommendation: BeWare of AH4R! Do NOT rent property from them! Read all reviews!

View full review
2 comments
#2100991

Take them to court, they are doing this to hard-working people. I get the feeling that this company believes that because people rent they somehow lack intelligence.

As a big corporation, they are taking advantage of their customers. There must be something that can be don't so this company can do right by people.

these wall street investors are getting rich and not giving an F about us. The government saw a new for the rental property after the housing market crash now big investors like AH4R is taking advantage on the little guy.

#2000389

Renting from them now !!!!! A nightmare ..

just received rate increase ... when I moved into this house the frig fell over on me because it was not balanced ...

no air in half the downstairs ... DONT RENT FROM AMERICA HOMES FOR RENT

View more comments (1)
ID
#2427284 Review #2427284 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Property Manager
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

This Company homes are designed to take your deposit.

Every technician that came for service from Xfinity, Ac/Heating, and Plumber stated my rental is poorly built. They could not access to the attic area to fix anything. Toilets' on lower level flooded due to workers clean up practice from painting whatever clogged the drain pipes outside. You can not put up curtains to block cold from entering into the home. The Front door has a gap that you can see outside. Thin sheet of paint on wall. You can actually affix scotch tape and pull off the paint with ease. Bathroom cabinets scuff marks prior to moving in. I have to put up plastic with thumb tacks to prevent damaging the wall any further than I did in the Master bedroom. The Only room that is getting heat is the master bedroom. Experienced dog *** in my little front yd. Pet owners let their dog *** everywhere and anywhere, I was asked to remove my review from Google by the local office. Only two months in my rental. We experience Metro police searching for a shooting suspect for homicide that was apprehended only a few houses from my rental. Oversized vehicles, junk cars in between homes, Cars blocking side walks, parked in front of fire hydrant. 5 large moving trucks blocking the streets. I have more photos, emails, videos of proof. It is Not worth it to lose your Money. A group of money hungry punks in California robbing tenants and is protected Corporate America policies, Our politicians are corrupt and had sold out America to lace their pockets.FACT!

User's recommendation: Homes are designed to keep your deposit!

View full review
ID
#2400432 Review #2400432 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Nashville-Davidson, Tennessee
Product
American Homes 4 Rent Heater Facility
Loss
$7
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

They are trying to say i owe them 1367 from 2 and half years ago.

I rent from them for 2 years and have been away from them for two and half years. All of a sudden I get an email more then 2 years later saying I owe money.I want someone to RETURN my calls from the cinti office that's where I paid the remaining so call balace more then 2 years ago and I have a receipt somewhere for that.I don't want a collection placed on my credit for no reason other then extortion.
View full review
ID
#2399502 Review #2399502 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Preferred solution
Some one call me and get the reciept for the final amount i gave them

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disappointed with this company

We moved in middle of last December. My first repair request was submitted in March or April and I was told they would only fix things that were a safety concern due to COVID. So I only submitted 2 repair orders for safety concerns. When I moved out, they charged me...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2100994

people need to complain to the BBB on this company its ok to have this blog but there needs to be a record with the BBB in the state you rented from.

ID
#2394100 Review #2394100 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Lack of response and empathy for tenant needs. I've been here 3 weeks in this residence and can't enjoy it because of their lack of concern for my concerns

II have called several times about things in this home that need to be replaced or repaired and sent photos to support my complaints. I have yet to have someone get back with dates and times for the maintenance repairs. I have only been here three weeks and it sucks!!!

User's recommendation: make sure they give you dates for services and hold them accountable!

View full review
ID
#2333320 Review #2333320 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1550
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

American Home 4 Rent Stole $3500 from me

Philip Irby the Chief Information Office at American Homes 4 Rent advertised several of their rental homes listing his phone number as the contact person. After I inspected the home in Salt Lake City, Utah and agreed to take it, Irby asked me for $3500 for the deposit. He did not tell the company nor give them my signed lease nor give them my money. When I phoned their head office in Agoura Hills California, they told me he does not have authority to take money or rent homes for the company and that he was only in the I.T department in Las Vegas. They told me that he manages all their I.T staff and has access to all the front door security codes along with alarm systems and cameras so that he would have been the one to have let me in the house in the first place for my inspection. They also said they had no lease in my name nor any record of my payment. They promised to investigate this Philip Irby joker and get back to me but I still have not heard back from anyone yet. American Homes 4 Rent do the right thing for a change and refund my money and terminate lousy staff like your Philip Irby.

User's recommendation: Avoid Philip Irby at American Homes 4 Rent he stole my $3500 deposit.

View full review
ID
#2304866 Review #2304866 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Property Manager
Pros
  • No positives they stink
Cons
  • Took my deposit and did not let me move in
  • Stole my deposit
  • Are conmen and thieves
Loss
$3500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Philp Irby American Homes 4 Rent CIO stole my $3500 deposit

Philip Irby at American Homes 4 Rent was the conman who stole my $3500 deposit money at American Homes 4 Rent. Their head office staff in Agoura Hills in California told me that he was not based in Utah where he had listed several of the companies homes for lease, but...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2100995

report the company to the BBB they are responsible for their employees' actions.

View more comments
ID
#2304840 Review #2304840 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Salt Lake City, Utah
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Property Manager

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

This company is a scam

This company charged a lot of damage fee. They make the tenants held all the responsibility for the upgrade. They did not return my deposit, but charge me about $5500 for the damage cost.

User's recommendation: DO NOT RENT FROM THIS COMPANY.

View full review
ID
#2301807 Review #2301807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent Property Leasing
Pros
  • No pros so far
Cons
  • No call back or response from management
  • Poor follow-up
  • Tries to take every penny you have
Loss
$6000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Stolen deposit

These people are the worst. They blow you off when you need repairs done and then they lie and steal your deposit. I have filled a complaint with BBB but they dont care. Im gonna have to sue to get my money back. DO NOT RENT!!! LIARS AND CROOKS!!!

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY!!!!!

View full review
ID
#2293458 Review #2293458 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Homes 4 Rent House Leasing
Cons
  • Will take advantage from start to finish
  • Horrible company
  • Advertisement in price will change after you apply
Loss
$1980
Preferred solution
Full refund
  • 1
  • ...
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • ...
  • 66